“Lord, help.”

It’s so easy to get busy, busy, busy! Constantly I am reminding myself: Slow down. Enjoy the moment. Appreciate smiles.

This makes a difference! While my life doesn’t particularly get less busy, it’s important for me to put things in perspective. I had coffee with a friend the other day and we were talking about life. Of course the SO. MANY. THINGS. to do was brought up in conversation. It’s important to prioritize what I can say yes too, which in turn gives me the freedom to say no to other things.

I didn’t realize how important this was until I started to implement this in my life–with everything! Work. Family. Friends. What are the things that need to be number one? What things can I give up that I am just pridefully hanging on to? I struggle with this a lot. I want to do everything that everyone expects of me. That is usually my fallback. But I’ve learned from wise and godly people that I need to definitely take time for me. This is just as important as taking time out for others. Right as my life seems to slow down, something else comes to send me off-kilter.

Image result for roller coaster
playbuzz.com

When that happens, what is my reaction? Usually I catch my breath and wonder, Again??! or think to myself, What else is going to happen? How much more of this can I take? What I need to do is stop and immediately pray to the Lord, even if it’s as simple as, “Lord, help me.” This often gets my mindset back on what is in front of me. Then I remind myself, Is it really that important? Most of the time it’s not. Now there are some exceptions, where the situation is serious and needs dire focus right at that moment. But I’ve found that’s very rare. In most cases, I am the one blowing everything out of proportion.

I don’t even have the answers on what to do next, but I do know that God will help you through this. Allow Him to guide your steps. It won’t always end up like you think, but it will be good.

featured picture from Massage Magazine

One thought on ““Lord, help.”

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

DeafFirefly

Poetry in British Sign Language and English

Women Who Draw

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

History Imagined

For Readers, Writers, and Lovers of Historical Fiction

Devotion Table

Sharing words of Hope, Encouragement and Love inspired by Jesus Christ

Journey Counseling

Christian Counseling for Women, Teen Girls, and Children

Discovering the Extraordinary

Finding beauty in the everyday moments of life

natalieallera.com

Lifestyle blog by Natalie. A Mum, Marketing Professional and Lifestyle Blogger. Loves hospitality, travel, tourism, design, social media and food, to name just a few...

5 minutes with...

Interesting questions for interesting people

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Read Voraciously

Devouring words one page at a time.

H.M.Dillard

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

