Cinderella, pt. 3: The Sting

At one point in the movie, it stated that it was hard for Ella not to believe what others were saying about her. And let’s just be honest, there are times that so many people have an opinion on who we are (whether that be based on personality, dress, speech, etc.). Ultimately, though, it is our choice what we believe about ourselves.

Image result for cinderella sobbing 2015

Some lies I’ve found myself believing:

  • I can’t do this.
  • It’s too much for me.
  • I’m not enough.
  • I will never make it.
  • I don’t measure up.
  • They don’t care about me.
  • I’ve done too much for someone to forgive that.

I’m going to tell you right now that you cannot change any of these thoughts on your own. They have become a process. What has helped me is reading the Bible and finding what the Lord says about me, no matter which of these situations I find myself:

  • I can do this through Christ!
  • Nothing is impossible with the Lord.
  • I am exactly the way I was made.
  • God will give me the strength.
  • Is my love for others coming from the Lord?
  • Jesus died to save me from ALL of my sins–for all time.

Sometimes I look at this and think, “Well, there are things that I fail at, so that means that Christ must not have blessed that.” Not necessarily. Failure is part of being human. We will still make mistakes, no matter how much we are following the Lord. Christ is the only one who ever was and will be perfect. No matter how much we try, we will never be perfect! That is hard for me to accept sometimes.

“Was who she was, who she really was, really enough?…This is perhaps the greatest risk any of us will ever take: to be seen as we truly are.” Cinderella (2015)

Especially when I am coming down on myself for something that I’ve done (or didn’t do!) and I can’t get out of the funk, I’ve learned it’s best to look for ways to serve. This doesn’t come from the fact that I’m trying to earn my way into God’s good graces by service, but that I get my mind off of myself for once, and see some of the struggles and triumphs that others are experiencing.

I actually forgot if i have already pint this. But yeah. I'm a cinderella freak.

I am not defined by what I’ve done, or will do. Let me say that again: YOU are not defined by what you’ve done (or not done). The only thing that can give us hope here is the Lord. Sin is prevalent. We do mess up, all the time! The Lord is the only hope we can have because our world is broken. The next time you go to church and sing, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty!” Do you really mean that? He IS the only one worthy of us uttering that to Him!

If you have placed Jesus as the Lord of your life, YOU are in His family! He sees you as pure because Jesus paid the ultimate sacrifice out of a heart full of pure love. THAT is what makes you worthy to even seek the Lord, NOT from anything you have attempted. You are worth it! Believe it!

One comment

Leave a Reply

