Psalm 139 (Part 1 of 5)

This blog series will coincide in a small way with the blog I posted last week called, “Unfinished!” I shared this with a small group at my church and would like to extend that to you, who didn’t get to sit in on our discussions. One of the first things that I thought of with the title, “Unfinished!” was a halfway-done painting. While not everyone is artistically inclined, we do have this phenomenon sweeping people’s interests right now called adult coloring books. So this is my presentation to you of an online coloring page 🙂

Paisley, Hearts and Flowers Anti-stress Coloring Design coloring page
Enter a caption

As we go through this series, just remember that WE are like the unfinished work of God. He is constantly changing us and molding us (a concept in pottery) to be more like Him. The first section is Psalm 139, verses 1-6.

Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I stand up;
You understand my thoughts from far away.
You observe my travels and my rest;
You are aware of all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue,
You know all about it, Lord.
You have encircled me;
You have placed Your hand on me.
This extraordinary knowledge is beyond me.
It is lofty; I am unable to reach it.

Question 1: How have you experienced God’s presence?

I used to think that God’s presence could only be found through something akin to meditation. I thought I’d have to “find” God through concentrating really hard or listening at just the right time. While seeking the Lord is something that we need to do (Psalm 27:4, Jeremiah 29:13), hearing His voice is not something that we can conjure up based on what we do.

It is easiest for me to experience the Lord when I stop doing things. I’m not meaning we need to put our lives on hold, but to put gaps of time in our busy schedules to stop and listen to the Lord. How do we do that? Some of the ways that I have been able to break into my own craziness: play the piano, listen to music, read the Bible, write in a journal, go for a run, seek advice from a godly friend (who might not always agree with me!). I encourage you to find how YOU hear the Lord’s voice. Just make sure that it matches with what the Bible teaches.

So what about you? What are ways that you have experienced God’s presence?

featured picture from lifehacker.com 

 

One thought on “Psalm 139 (Part 1 of 5)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

DeafFirefly

Poetry in British Sign Language and English

Women Who Draw

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

History Imagined

For Readers, Writers, and Lovers of Historical Fiction

Devotion Table

Sharing words of Hope, Encouragement and Love inspired by Jesus Christ

Journey Counseling

Christian Counseling for Women, Teen Girls, and Children

Discovering the Extraordinary

Finding beauty in the everyday moments of life

natalieallera.com

Lifestyle blog by Natalie. A Mum, Marketing Professional and Lifestyle Blogger. Loves hospitality, travel, tourism, design, social media and food, to name just a few...

5 minutes with...

Interesting questions for interesting people

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Read Voraciously

Devouring words one page at a time.

H.M.Dillard

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

