In the Silence

Today I did something that was completely out of the ordinary (for me, at least!). I ran my daily route, but I did it without music. Normally I NEED music to concentrate on my rhythm and to keep up my pace.

But I needed the quiet today. I used it to pray.

Image result for silence
trovesaurus.com

Do you ever have one of those days that you just need to listen to the Lord? I don’t know about you, but there are so many days that I get caught up in my job, what I have to do, what I want to do, and even those not-so-necessary things that come up that I “need” to do. All of these are useful in the moment, and I’m not even hinting that these are bad things. It’s important to have something in our lives that keeps us from becoming lazy bums. However, for me, there comes a point when I use all of these other “important” things to block out what God is trying to teach me!

This is what I needed today. I needed a moment to just listen. So I did something that has been very uncharacteristic for me over the last several months and I woke up before 7:00 am. This might not be early to some, and it used to be absolutely normal for me. But because of different factors, I haven’t actually taken the time to get up with the sun.

Image
shadowlilies.wordpress.com

Let me preface this by saying: When I say that God speaks to me, or that I took the time out to listen to Him, I am talking about a different kind of meditation than is being promoted out there today. When I take time to focus on what God is saying to me, it has nothing to do with me getting in the right position, or clearing my mind so that my mind is open to whatever mysterious forces want to invade. Honestly, it is me choosing to take the time to shut my mind up and actually hear what God has been trying to tell me for the past week. I just have to take the time to HEAR HIM.

Today I did.

And you know what I found? I learned to ask questions and to let my mind just listen to what God spoke to my heart. I was able to shut out the “what if’s” and the “yeah, but…” that I usually have ready to go when God tells me something I don’t want to hear. Let me tell you something though; God did not answer all of my queries. He did not have an answer for every question, but I do know this: because of how stubborn I am, He only gives me things right before I need them. Otherwise, I tend to take them and say that I was the one who figured this out! And you know what? That is not the purpose for me as a Christian on this earth. I am here to give the glory to God in whatever He does in my life. 🙂

For me, that was exactly what I needed to hear! How about you? What have you learned from the silence? Did God speak to you? How can you take time out of your busy day to just listen?

featured picture from postsfromthepath.com

One thought on “In the Silence

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

DeafFirefly

Poetry in British Sign Language and English

Women Who Draw

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

History Imagined

For Readers, Writers, and Lovers of Historical Fiction

Devotion Table

Sharing words of Hope, Encouragement and Love inspired by Jesus Christ

Journey Counseling

Christian Counseling for Women, Teen Girls, and Children

Discovering the Extraordinary

Finding beauty in the everyday moments of life

natalieallera.com

Lifestyle blog by Natalie. A Mum, Marketing Professional and Lifestyle Blogger. Loves hospitality, travel, tourism, design, social media and food, to name just a few...

5 minutes with...

Interesting questions for interesting people

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Read Voraciously

Devouring words one page at a time.

H.M.Dillard

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

