Letter to Myself

My 213th book to read since I started using Goodreads was The Five Times I Met Myself, by James L. Rubart. This book was suggested by my mom, and even though we don’t usually tend to have the same taste in books, this one’s really good! It is a fiction book that focuses on a man who has the opportunity to return to his younger self in dream state and change a few things in his life. At the time of writing this blog, I am about halfway through, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be surprised by a few things before I reach the end.

Image result for letter writing
ThoughtCo.com

It brings me back to one of my goals for this year, which was to write a letter to myself (my thirtieth birthday was in December) and read it in ten years. I didn’t actually do this on my birthday, but rather that week right after New Year’s. I was inspired by a blog that I’ve mentioned on Sharing Saturday, written by Allison Fallon. The article itself can be found here.

Another song that I’ve listened to recently is by a group called Mercy Me, Dear Younger Me. It explains that while we would love to go back and tell our younger selves what to do and not do, often we learn a lot from our mistakes and become the person that we are today. This was really important for me to hear as I evaluate choices that I’ve made. I see that these choices are what has shaped me into the person that I am today!

featured photo from http://www.opnlttr.com/letter/dear-me-open-letter-myself 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

