HOPE–What is Hope?…(part 1 of a series)

The meaning of HOPE from the Merriam-Webster dictionary includes such definitions as, “to cherish a desire with anticipation; to want something to happen or be true; to expect with confidence.”

For something different on the blog, I’m going to spend a few days focusing on hope: both how we tend to see it and what it really is.

Image result for hope meme

For today’s introduction, let me explain how I came to write this post. While I was in the car on the way to Starbucks I heard a Christian artist explain the “behind the scenes” of why he wrote a particular song. He began to share that no matter what you go through in life–and you may go through some horrible and tragic things!–we always have that hope…he said that he wants to be the type of person like Meshach, Shadrach, and Abednego who were thrown into a furnace as persecution. Before they succumbed to the furnace, they said essentially, “We know that God can save us. But if for some reason he chooses not to, we will still worship Him!”

Even If, by Mercy Me: 

This video has been particularly important to me recently. Right after my grandmother passed away (about a month ago), my uncle brought up this song. Amidst tears he explained that the Lord gave her to us for this time, and that He knew exactly what we were going through. It has been comforting to hear someone else’s words in a tough situation, especially when I can’t find the words to express myself.

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

