Contentment

I would like to breach the subject today about contentment. My friends and I have talked a lot about this topic, and I’d like to share a few of my thoughts as well as some ideas I’ve picked up along the way. I’ve learned that there are people out there who are wiser than me, but I’m just now learning to actually listen.

Image result for listen memes
relatably.com/m/listening-memes

It’s not about having stuff.

This is probably the first thing that would be mentioned in any conversation we would have together. “It doesn’t matter how much stuff you have. That can never make you happy.” But how many of us actually believe that? I call myself a content person, yet find myself at times looking longingly at something in one of my favorite stores thinking, I really need that. If I just had this, life would be so much better!

Contentment is not the same as happiness.

Image result for happy memes funny
taken from http://www.pinterest.com/explore/happy-memes/

Contentment is a state of happiness that is just there, satisfaction with where you are in the moment.

Happiness, on the other hand, is usually based on your emotions at the time.

Though both of these are beneficial, and that contentment dodd stem somewhat from happiness, let me emphasize one thing: we cannot base how we live founces solely on our emotions at the time! Can I just explain this for a second?

I am not a very emotional person. This varies greatly from some other women that I know, who are able to express themselves very articulately through emotions. But I am learning that it’s okay to allow emotions to guide my thought processes sometimes. This gives me the ability to empathize with others better.

But what happens when we allow ourselves to be swept up in the moment, carried away  by our own thoughts and emotions? This does not bring about good results, and often builds resentment rather than joys in our friendships.

Enjoy the moment.

img_5252

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/friday-things-178/#comment-5610814

This encouragement is something that I often overlook. I am usually either really stressed (about something that I think in that moment is SUPER important) or I don’t really have an opinion on something. But several of my friends recently have reminded me: no matter what I’m going through, or what stress I seem to be under at the time, STOP AND ENJOY THE MOMENT. You never know when it will be gone. Just this week my mom sent me a text that emphasized how my sisters and I have spent time with my grandparents, who have both recently passed away. But what struck me the most is that I moved here to be closer to them. And I have done that. I wouldn’t have imagined even two years ago that I would come back here. God has an interesting way of guiding us where we need to be. There is no such thing as coincidence.

img_5251

https://memegenerator.net/instance/57991196

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

DeafFirefly

Poetry in British Sign Language and English

Women Who Draw

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

History Imagined

For Readers, Writers, and Lovers of Historical Fiction

Devotion Table

Sharing words of Hope, Encouragement and Love inspired by Jesus Christ

Journey Counseling

Christian Counseling for Women, Teen Girls, and Children

Discovering the Extraordinary

Finding beauty in the everyday moments of life

natalieallera.com

Lifestyle blog by Natalie. A Mum, Marketing Professional and Lifestyle Blogger. Loves hospitality, travel, tourism, design, social media and food, to name just a few...

5 minutes with...

Interesting questions for interesting people

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Read Voraciously

Devouring words one page at a time.

H.M.Dillard

Just my life - Relationships, Running, Reading, and (W)riting

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

