Writing Believable Fiction

La lectura de un texto es el medio que utiliza su autor para entablar amistad con su lector.:
from, http://www.npr.org/series/three-books/

I have a question for all my creative writers out there! I am stumped on how to write convincing fiction and make it hook the reader into the story.

What makes something worth reading, in your opinion?

Here’s the reason I’m asking: I would eventually like to write a fiction novel, and while I can list several fiction books that I really love, I am not sure how to emulate it.

The Letterfolk Writer Oak is a classic, striking piece for any space. Ideal for wordier messages or poignant brevity, this letter board provides adequate real estate for unlimited personalization.
click to follow

How do I make my writing my own, yet make it something that someone will want to read someday? I’ve come up with a few things that I enjoy in a story.

  • Memorable characters: I like the characters to have a background that is revealed as the story unfolds (from both sides: the protagonist and the villain).
  • Twist in the plot: As I read a story I want to anticipate what will happen next. I am pleasantly surprised when I the story takes a turn that I didn’t expect!
  • Manner of writing: When the author uses language or phrases that I am unfamiliar with, yet explains it through his/her descriptions, it opens my imagination to something new.

So I’d like to hear from you! What do you enjoy in your fiction? Any tips that you’ve picked up that you are willing to share? 

featured picture, library from Germany, http://steampunksteampunk.tumblr.com/image/154350919192

 

Leave a Reply

