Classic Characters, Modern Moments

Image result for reading meme austen

When we imagine a classic book such as, Emma, by Jane Austen; Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte; or Sherlock Holmes, by Arthur Conan Doyle; we are first struck by the language. I still have yet to be able to conjure up a British accent while reading such literature because I am horrible at mimicking accents.

Despite this, the way that the author’s manner, humor, and inner thoughts are portrayed in each sentence has me baffled. Austen can have me laughing out loud. Bronte allows me to be swept up in an incomprehensible love story. Doyle’s powers of deduction still have me baffled.

Image result for meme Mr. knightley

I am completely inspired by the character of Mr. Knightley, a close friend of Emma in Jane Austen’s novel. He is overly polite, but has no problem putting Emma in her place when he needed to. The reason that he called her out on such issues was because, as revealed by the end of the book, he loved her. I think of him as a pre-modern-day Captain America. He does what is right but is still ultimately concerned about the welfare of others.

Then there’s me. I tend to be an optimistic person, but often get so caught up in the moment that I am in that I forget others. I hope in a way to allow my writing to reach others when my verbal words fail.

Image result for awkward silence meme bronte

My goal for writing is to become a successful author of a historical fiction book. This is my beginning. This is where I start. All I know is that I need to continue writing. Thankfully, I am in the process of publishing my very first book! It will not be available to the public for several months, but let me be the first voice of inspiration for you!

You have something to say! Your words might not be as elegant as Jane Austen or any other author that you love, but they will be someday! Begin to write down your funny stories, even if they don’t seem to amount to much. Your personal experiences might end up being a favorite scene in your next novel!

So what about you? What is a favorite book of yours, and why is it so inspirational in your life? Please feel free to comment below!

Image result for favorite scene meme sherlock

3 Comments Add yours

  1. vavel5410 says:

    I don’t know if I have a specific favorite book, but I do have a favorite book series. That series would be The Dresden Files. The science fiction worlds described really capture my imagination. More so than other books. Why that is? I don’t know. Perhaps it’s because it blends reality so well with it’s science fiction aspects.
    The main character inspires me quite a bit. To see all of the hardship the character has gone through while still puting others first, staying steadfast and even keeping his humor during even the toughest of times. Truly a character I aspire to be like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hdillard says:

      I love it when reality is mixed inside other worlds! It is so fun to get caught up in what might be possible. That is one series that I have not read, but maybe now I should start!

      Like

Leave a Reply

